HUMOR | SOCIETY | PROGRESS

Let Go and Let Google…Rule Your Life

Learning to embrace Big Data as if it was a relative who knows better

Anne Kruse, M.S.
5 min readAug 2, 2024

--

Three pineapples with party hats surrounded by balloons
Photo credit: Pineapple Supply Company on Pexels.com

Are you as exhausted as I am? I’m convinced even the true crime junkies would be hard-pressed to find my true self. It certainly doesn’t help that life literally changes, and changes you every day. Just when you think you’ve nailed down exactly why you hate crowds, or find chewed gum on the ground to be a crime against humanity, a breezy “Oh well, who gives a sh**” lands in your thought stream and you anoint yourself to be “easy going.”

For some reason, the cyber-folks have gathered meaningless data and found enough meaning in it to sell it to companies vying for your dollars. Are they getting it right? Sometimes. But the fake followers I get on IG whose profile of “middle-aged-white-chubby-go-teed-men” keep getting it wrong. Hey, for those data scrubbers out there, lesbians don’t go for that. Geez!

From my way-off-base IG predators to the ads in my scrolling adventures, I felt inspired to share a little snarky wisdom. That’s who I am today anyway.

Sure, the seating capacity sign reads, “500,” but the sheer volume of people in the room feels way past suffocation. Through all faults of my own, I’m sitting at the vortex of…

--

--

Anne Kruse, M.S.

Writer, Career Psychology, Conveyor of humor, insightful absurdities, and some stuff we really should talk about. annekrusethewriter.com.